Alumni Awards and Appointments



An academic appointment of high distinction has been granted to one of our very own. Sean Seymore (Ph.D., 2001, J.D., 2006) will be the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Visiting Associate Professor in spring 2012 at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in the Program in Science, Technology and Society. MIT established the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Visiting Professor Program in 1995 to enhance and recognize the contributions of outstanding scholars. The program is designed to allow visiting professors to enhance their scholarship through intellectual interactions with MIT peers, and enrich the intellectual life of MIT with their participation in MIT research and academic programs.   

Prof. Seymore received his Ph.D. in chemistry under the tutelage of Seth Brown, investigating the effects of charge and polarity in metal-mediated nitrogen and oxygen atom transfer. He co-authored four publications in Inorganic Chemistry with Prof. Brown, and was awarded the Emil T. Hofman Graduate Teaching Award and a Kaneb Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Award. He went on to assume faculty positions in the chemistry departments of the Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology (Terre Haute, IN) and Rowan University (Glassboro, NJ) before returning to Notre Dame for his law degree. He was assistant professor of law at Washington & Lee University before moving to Vanderbilt University where he holds associate professorships in both law and chemistry. Link. He is affiliated with the Intellectual Property Program and teaches torts, patent law and a seminar, “Law, Science and Technology.” Prof. Seymore is an active member of the American Chemical Society and currently serves on the executive committee for the Division of Chemistry and the Law. He served on the ACS’s Younger Chemists Committee from 2002 to 2006 and on the Committee on Patents and Related Matters from 2006 to 2007.

All best to Prof. Seymore as he continues on his remarkable intellectual and professional journey.




Congratulations are also extended to chemistry alumna Ann Weber (B.S., 1982), who was awarded the 2010 Robert M. Scarborough Memorial Award for Excellence in Medicinal Chemistry from the American Chemical Society Division of Medicinal Chemistry. Dr. Weber is vice president for discovery and preclinical sciences and head of discovery chemistry at Merck Research Laboratories. Dr. Weber’s post-Notre Dame career arc has been a distinguished one, filled with many achievements in the realm of medicinal chemistry. Here’s to continued success!






Patrick Brown (B.S., 2009), a dual chemistry and physics major was awarded a prestigious Hertz fellowship.  Patrick is currently a graduate student at MIT in the  Organic and Nanostructured Electronics Laboratory. The fellowship is worth a cool $250,000. Congratulations Patrick!