Karen Ostdiek receives 2015 Browne Memorial Award

Author: Shelly Goethals

Karen Ostdiek, a graduate student in the Department of Physics at the University of Notre Dame has been selected as the 2015 recipient of the Cornelius P. Browne Memorial Award.


Prof. Cornelius P. Browne served as the director for the Nuclear Structure Lab for nearly thirty years. Through his hard work and dedication he steered the lab through the most successful period in its history. In honor of Prof. Browne, this award is presented annually to an outstanding nuclear physics graduate student who has exemplified his work ethic.

Recent award recipient include Wenting Lu (2014); Darshana Patel and Ethan Uberseder (2013); and Brian Bucher (2012).

Photo: Sperry E. Darden, Brother Cosmas Guttly, and Cornelius P. Browne in front of the new particle accelerator in Nieuwland Science Hall, July 1968.

Originally published by Shelly Goethals at physics.nd.edu on March 02, 2015.