2019 Society of Physics Students induction

Author: Shelly Goethals

Jordan Hall And Hesburgh Library 1200

Img 0461updated

The Department of Physics at the University of Notre Dame inducted 12 undergraduate physics majors and one faculty member into Sigma Pi Sigma on Friday, April 26. Professor Manoel Couder, faculty advisor of the Society of Physics Students, and Professor Peter Garnavich, Department Chair, presented the inductees with their honor cords and pins.

Sigma Pi Sigma is the official honor society of the physics profession. Through election to Sigma Pi Sigma, distinctive achievement and high scholarship in physics is recognized and celebrated.

Students inducted:

  • Nicolas DeBikero
  • Matthew Drnevich
  • Cameron Gorsak
  • Taylor Hernandez
  • Zachary Huber
  • Patrick Link
  • Walter McLallen
  • Patrick Millican
  • Maciej Olszewski
  • Erik Peterson
  • Anne Stratman
  • Judah Van Zandt

And Faculty member Umesh Garg.


More about Sigma Pi Sigma

Sigma Pi Sigma exists to honor outstanding scholarship in physics; to encourage interest in physics among students at all levels; to promote an attitude of service of its members towards their fellow students, colleagues, and the public; to provide a fellowship of persons who have excelled in physics. Sigma Pi Sigma’s mission is not completed in the induction ceremony with the recognition of academic accomplishment. In the four dimensions of Honor, Encouragement, Service, and Fellowship, the mission of Sigma Pi Sigma takes a longer view.

Founded in 1921, Sigma Pi Sigma is a member honor society of the Association of College Honor Societies. Our society has some 75,000 historical members. Election to Sigma Pi Sigma is a lifetime membership.

Originally published by Shelly Goethals at physics.nd.edu on May 06, 2019.