College announces two new chairs

Author: Marissa Gebhard

The College of Science has named Bei Hu, professor of mathematics, as chair of the Department of Mathematics, and Gary Lamberti, professor of biological sciences, as chair of the Department of Biological Sciences, beginning July 2008.

Bei Hu

Bei Hu, who came to the University eighteen years ago, served as associate chair of the Department of Mathematics this past year. He has served on several committees including the committee of appointments and promotions for the Department of Mathematics.  In 2006 and in 2000, he received Kaneb teaching awards for his outstanding teaching of undergraduates. He has received several grants from the National Science Foundation and co-organized several conferences including the American Mathematical Society Special Session in Mathematical Biology (2006). Hu earned a Ph.D. and a master’s of science in mathematics from the University of Minnesota as well as a bachelor’s and master’s degree from East China Normal University.

Gary Lamberti

Gary Lamberti previously served as assistant chair and director of graduate studies for the Department of Biological Sciences since 2001, a position in which he oversaw the recruitment and training of approximately 140 graduate students each year. Lamberti is the recipient of the Shilts-Leonard Teaching Award from the College of Science (2003) and the James A. Burns, CSC, Award from the Graduate School (2004).  Before coming to the University of Notre Dame in 1989, he conducted research at Oregon State University in the Department of Fisheries & Wildlife preceded by a postdoctoral position at the University of California at Berkeley. He is an editor of the textbook Methods in Stream Ecologywhich was recently published in its second edition. Lamberti earned a Ph.D. in Entomological Sciences at the University of California at Berkeley and his bachelor’s degree in Entomology at the University of California at Davis.