College of Science 2019-2020 awards announced

Author: Tammi Freehling

Jordan Hall And Hesburgh Library 1200

Seniors in the College of Science and faculty were recently honored with awards for the 2019-20 academic year. 

Each year the Dean’s Award is presented to an outstanding graduating senior in the College of Science in recognition of exemplary personal character, leadership, service and outstanding achievement. The 2020 recipient is Love Osunnuga, a biological sciences and honors mathematics double major and member of the Glynn Family Honors Program. Her exceptional academic performance is only one of many achievements that highlight her career at Notre Dame.

Osunnuga is a member of Phi Beta Kappa honor society, is a Stamps Foundation Merit Scholar, and was awarded the GE Prize for Excellence in Mathematics. She participated in molecular cell biology research and Von Hippel-Lindau (VHL) rare disease research under the direction of Crislyn D’Souza-Schorey, the Morris Pollard Professor and Chair of the Department of Biological Sciences.  

Osunnuga will attend the University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine as a 21st Century Scholarship recipient.

The Dean’s Research Award is presented annually to the outstanding graduating senior in the College of Science who has conducted exceptional research within and across the traditional boundaries of scholarly disciplines and who embraces, facilitates, and fosters an environment of scientific inquiry. The 2020 recipient of the Dean’s Research Award is Matthew Wang in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry.

An earlier announcement was made by the University in which Brady Stiller was named Valedictorian and Love Osunnuga was named Salutatorian. Both students are College of Science graduates.

In addition to the Dean’s Awards, each department within the College of Science presents awards to graduating seniors:

Outstanding Applied and Computational Mathematics and Statistics Major Award: Nicholas Ottone and Honoka Suzuki.

Department of Biological Sciences awards:
Outstanding Biology Student Leader Award: Love Osunnuga
Outstanding Biological Scientist Award: Lindsey Mortensen, Tess Marvin, Brady Stiller, Michael O’Dea, and Ryan Middleton
Outstanding Environmental Scientist Award: Brielle Jaglowski
Mr. and Mrs. Frank McDonald Undergraduate Research Award: Carmen Alvarez, Erica Gerstbauer, Amelia Grose, and Abigail Zellmer
Robert Braco, M.D. Honors Research Award: Rebecca Hipp
Paul F. Ware, M.D. Excellence in Undergraduate Research Award: Amanda Addiego and Yanting (Raven) Luo

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry awards:
Outstanding Biochemist Award: Cameron Hunter
Outstanding Biochemistry Research Award: Robby Gipson
Outstanding Chemist Award: Jake Drysdale
Outstanding Chemistry Research Award: Samantha Barlock
William R. Wischerath Outstanding Chemistry Major Award: Matthew Wang
Chemistry and Biochemistry Leadership Award: Maddie Mettey and Clare Cahir
ACS Division of Organic Chemistry Outstanding Senior Organic Chemistry Student: Nico Robalin
ACS Division of Physical Chemistry Outstanding Senior Physical Chemistry Student: Rebecca Radomsky
ACS Division of Inorganic Chemistry Outstanding Senior Inorganic Chemistry Student: Robby Gipson
ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry Outstanding Senior Analytical Chemistry Student: William Huffman

Department of Mathematics awards:
Robert P. Balles Distinguished Mathematics Honor Scholar: Love Osunnuga
Robert P. Balles Distinguished Mathematics Scholar: Alfonse Murphy
The General Electric Prize for Honors Mathematics Majors: Love Osunnuga, Matthew Schoenbauer, and Mikhail Sweeney
The General Electric Prize for Mathematics Majors: Matthew Canonico, Enhao Feng, and Alfonse Murphy
The George Kolettis Award in Mathematics: Sophia Kardadi and Timothy Stavetski 
The Norman and Beatrice Haaser Scholarship in Mathematics: Matthew Ingwersen, Sophia Kardadi, Matthew Schoenbauer, and Mikhail Sweeney 

Department of Physics awards:
Outstanding Senior Physics Major: Kevin Greif
Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award: Christian Bunker and Arianna Garcia Caffaro
Paul Chagnon Award for Service to the Department: Kevin Greif

Preprofessional Studies awards:
The Lawrence H. Baldinger Award: Elizabeth Cinquegrani, Ian Erkkila, and Ingrid Hirte
The Reverend Joseph L. Walter, C.S.C. Award: Margaret Doyle and Jay Wegman
The Samuel J. Chmell, M.D. Award: Liam Nugent
The Patrick J. Niland, M.D. Award: David Kronenberger

Collegiate Sequence Awards: Jess Hatfield and Margo Waters

Neuroscience and Behavior awards:
Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award: Katherine McGuckin
Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award: Emily Graff
Outstanding Undergraduate Leadership and Service Award: Brett Segobiano
Universal Scholar Award: Emilia Maliborski

The Glynn Family Honors Program offers select undergraduates the opportunity to pursue academic excellence within a community of like-minded learners. Glynn Family Honors Program students in the College of Science for 2020: Logan Boyle, Joseph Cozzi, Alicia Cristoforo, Emily Daly, James Drysdale, Jessica D’Souza, Jennifer Duma, Robert Gipson, Kallin Hermann, Matthew Ingwersen, Annrose Jerry, Sean Kelly, David Kronenberger, Ean Maloney, Sean Markovitz, Katherine McGuckin, Joshua Morgenlander, Robert Mummery, Michael O’Dea, Love Osunnuga, Nicholas Ottone, Kristin Ringhand, Claire Saltzman, Matthew Schoenbauer, Katherine Sestrick, Michael Sokolowski, Helen Streff, Honoka Suzuki, Alexandra Vallera, and Jacqueline Weinrich

Faculty awards: 

Father James L. Shilts, C.S.C./Doris and Gene Leonard Teaching Award: J. Daniel Gezelter, Ph.D., professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

The University’s Joyce Award and Dockweiler Award recipients were also announced and include the following faculty in the College of Science:

Joyce Award:
Jon Camden, professor in the department of chemistry and biochemistry
Kenneth Filchak, teaching professor in the department of biological sciences
J. Daniel Gezelter, professor in the department of chemistry and biochemistry
Jonathan Hauenstein, professor in the department of applied and computational mathematics and statistics
Paul Helquist, professor in the department of chemistry and biochemistry
Kevin Lannon, professor in the department of physics
ChongKeat Arthur Lim, professor of the practice in the department of mathematics
Yongtao Zhang, professor in the department of applied and computational mathematics and statistics

Dockweiler Award: Nancy Michael, Assistant Teaching Professor in the College of Science