College of Science faculty receive Dockweiler and Joyce Awards

Author: Marissa Gebhard

Dockweiler Award

Paul Grimstad, associate professor of biological sciences, has been selected to receive the Dockweiler Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising. The award recognizes faculty and staff who have demonstrated a sustained commitment to Notre Dame undergraduates through outstanding mentoring, academic advising or career counseling services. Grimstad was one of only three recipients.

Joyce Awards


Michael Hildreth

Jeffrey Diller

Malgorzata Dobrowolska-Furdyna, professor of physics and Michael Hildreth, associate professor of physics and Jeffrey Diller, associate professor of mathematics have been selected to receive the Rev. Edmund P. Joyce, C.S.C., Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching. The Joyce Award, formerly known as the Kaneb Teaching Award, was established last year and is named for the late executive vice president of Notre Dame. It honors faculty members who have had a profound influence on undergraduate students through sustained exemplary teaching, and, in particular, recognizes professors who create environments that stimulate significant student learning, elevate students to a new level of intellectual engagement, and foster students’ ability to express themselves effectively within their disciplines. Dobrowolska-Furdyna, Hildreth and Diller were accompanied by fifteen other faculty members from across the University.