College of Science faculty receive Joyce and Dockweiler awards

Author: Gene Stowe






Five College of Science faculty members are among 20 winners of the Rev. Edmund P. Joyce, C.S.C., Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching. Theses faculty have had a profound influence on undergraduate students through sustained exemplary teaching. Xavier Creary and Jeffrey Peng of the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Anthony Hyder of the Department of Physics, Charles Kulpa of the Department of Biological Sciences and Anne Pilkington of the Department of Mathematics received the award.

Kathleen Kolberg, assistant dean of the College of Science, received a Dockweiler Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising. Through the Center for Health Sciences Advising, Kolberg advises students who are preparing for medical, dental, veterinary and other schools in the health professions.

Winners are nominated by peers and students, chosen by faculty committees and awarded by the Office of the Provost. A gift from the Class of 1937, which included Father Joyce, supports the undergraduate teaching award that recognizes faculty members who create stimulating learning environments, elevate students’ intellectual engagement and foster student’s ability to express themselves effectively. The Julia Stearns Dockweiler Charitable Foundation supports the award for three advisors and student mentors each year. Both awards were established in 2007.