Faculty awards honor exemplary work in undergraduate teaching and advising

Author: Michael O. Garvey

Presidential Seal

Presidential Seal

Twenty University of Notre Dame faculty members have received Rev. Edmund P. Joyce, C.S.C., Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching, and three have been honored with Dockweiler Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising. Six award winners are from the College of Science.

The awards are presented by the Office of the Provost, but recipients are selected through a process that includes peer and student nominations.

The College of Science Dockweiler Award winner for the 2014-2015 academic year:

The 20 winners of Joyce teaching excellence awards represent faculty who have had a profound influence on undergraduate students through sustained exemplary teaching. Faculty committees in each of seven disciplinary areas review the peer and student nominations.

The five College of Science Joyce Award recipients for the 2014-2015 academic year are:

The undergraduate teaching award is supported by a gift from the late Father Joyce’s classmates in the Class of 1937. This is the ninth year that advisers and student mentors are being honored through an award supported by the Julia Stearns Dockweiler Charitable Foundation.

Originally published by Michael O. Garvey at news.nd.edu on May 07, 2015.