Faculty awards honor exemplary work in undergraduate teaching

Author: Michael O. Garvey

Blue and gold academic seal

Blue and gold academic seal

Twenty-one University of Notre Dame faculty members have received Rev. Edmund P. Joyce, C.S.C., Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching, including six College of Science faculty members.

The awards are presented by the Office of the Provost, but recipients are selected through a process that includes peer and student nominations.

The winners of the Joyce teaching excellence awards represent faculty who have had a profound influence on undergraduate students through sustained exemplary teaching. Faculty committees in each of seven disciplinary areas review the peer and student nominations.

The College of Science Joyce Award recipients are:

The undergraduate teaching award is supported by a gift from the late Father Joyce’s classmates in the Class of 1937.

Originally published by Michael O. Garvey at news.nd.edu on May 05, 2014.