Fifth annual Commercialization Award event coming soon

Author: Joanne Fahey

Matthew Leevy

This graphic reflects the work of Matthew Leevy, winner of the 2014 1st Source Bank Commercialization Award

The University of Notre Dame will host the fifth annual 1st Source Bank Commercialization Award Dinner on Tuesday, April 14, 2015 at the Gillespie Conference Center in South Bend.

Established in 2008 with a $1 million gift from 1st Source Bank, the award is presented each year to faculty from Notre Dame or the Indiana University School of Medicine-South Bend (IUSM-SB) who have successfully transitioned their technology from the lab to the marketplace.

This year’s dinner, “A Night Celebrating University Innovation,” will honor one faculty member’s discoveries that have resulted in commercial impact. The award includes a $20,000 cash prize. All Notre Dame or IUSM-SB inventors who were awarded a U.S. patent in 2014, as well as inventors who have submitted invention disclosures, will also be recognized.

Speaking about the award, Richard Cox, director of technology transfer, said, “I am thrilled with both the quality and quantity of nominations for this year’s 1st Source Bank Commercialization Award.” Cox continued, “The goal of the award is to recognize those who are successfully translating their research to the marketplace while also making a difference on both a local and global scale. We look forward to highlighting the excellent research being undertaken by faculty at Notre Dame and the IU School of Medicine in South Bend by honoring one of them with this year’s prestigious award.”

Some 150 guests of the dinner will be treated to a keynote speech by Michael D. Rhodin, senior vice president of IBM Watson, which is one of IBM’s most significant innovations in the company’s 103-year history. Jeff Rea, president and CEO of the Chamber of Commerce of St. Joseph County and Robert J. Bernhard, vice president for research at the University of Notre Dame, will present the 2015 IDAs (faculty patent awards), while  Christopher J. Murphy III, Chairman of the Board and CEO of the 1st Source Corporation, and Thomas G. Burish, Charles and Jill Fischer Provost, will present the annual 1st Source Bank Commercialization Award.

Previous winners of the award include:

2014: W. Matthew Leevy, Research Associate Professor, Department of Biological Sciences

2013: Hsueh-Chia Chang, Bayer Professor, Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, and Bayer Professor, Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering

2012: Tim Ovaert, Professor, Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering

2011: Peter Kogge, Ted H. McCourtney Professor, Department of Computer Science and Engineering and Concurrent Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering, and Jay Brockman, Associate Professor, Department of Computer Science and Engineering, and Concurrent Associate Professor, Department of Engineering Electrical

For more information, please see

Originally published by Joanne Fahey at on March 19, 2015.