Graduate physics students present research at annual conference

Author: Shadia Ajam

Collin Lines presents at the 3rd annual GPS spring conference.

GPS Conference

This past Monday (Apr. 28) the Graduate Physics Students (GPS) organization organized their third annual conference showcasing the research of physics graduate students at Notre Dame. The conference consisted of two poster sessions, five research talks given by select students, and an award ceremony in Nieuwland Science Hall.

In order to represent different areas of physics, the organizing committee selected representatives from each physics concentration, astrophysics, atomic physics, biophysics, condensed matter physics, high energy physics, and nuclear physics, to give talks about their research. The talks were given by Nancy Paul (advised by Ani Aprahamian), Benjamin Rose (advised by Peter Garnavich), Karen Ostdiek (advised by Philippe Collon), Iogann Tolbatov (advised by Sylwia Ptasinska), and Landon Lehman (advised by Adam Martin).

Post-doctoral fellows from all research groups were also invited to be judges for the poster presentations. The winners of the poster session were Ed Lamere (first place), Karen Ostdeik (second place) and Liz DeWaard (third place). The awards for the posters included $100.00 for first, $50.00 for second, and $25.00 for third.

The conference was sponsored by the Graduate Student Union, the Joint Institute for Nuclear Astrophysics, the College of Science and Department of Physics.  The organizing committee, consisting of seven graduate students, hope to put the event on again next year.

To learn more about the Graduate Physics Students organization visit: