Notre Dame nuclear physics professors receive $8.1M grant from NSF

Author: Shelly Goethals


A team of Notre Dame nuclear physics professors was recently awarded a three-year $8.1M grant from the National Science Foundation to continue operation of the Nuclear Science Laboratory (NSL) and to continue their research in nuclear physics.

The team consists of Professor Dan Bardayan, Assistant Professor Tan Ahn, Professor Ani Aprahamian, Associate Professor Max Brodeur, Professor Philippe Collon, Associate Professor Manoel Couder, Professor Umesh Garg, Associate Professor Anna Simon, and Professor Michael Wiescher. A particular focus of this proposal entitled "Nuclear Physics at the Notre Dame Nuclear Science Laboratory Providing a Window on the Universe" is the study of nuclei and nuclear reactions that are critical for interpreting observations of multi-messengers in astrophysics.  These messengers provide windows on the Universe and elucidate nuclear astrophysics processes occurring throughout.

In addition to being a ground-breaking physics laboratory, the NSL is also an important training ground for the next generation of nuclear scientists. The NSL supports the research program of 10 Notre Dame T&TT faculty, nine research faculty members, approximately 35 graduate students, and 20 undergraduate students. The NSL serves as a regional, national, and international resource and user facility for experiments that are difficult or impossible to do elsewhere. Since May 2017, the lab has had more than 120 visitors using our facilities. They came from 15 foreign countries, 14 U.S. universities and colleges, three U.S. national laboratories, and two industrial laboratories.

Originally published by Shelly Goethals at on July 20, 2020.