Physics majors inducted to Sigma Pi Sigma honor society

Author: Shelly Goethals

Dome 1200

Sps Logo

The Department of Physics at the University of Notre Dame inducted 13 undergraduate physics majors and one faculty member into Sigma Pi Sigma on Friday, April 27. Professor Manoel Couder, faculty advisor of the Society of Physics Students, and Professor Peter Garnavich, Department Chair, presented the inductees with their honor cords and pins.

Sigma Pi Sigma is the official honor society of the physics profession. Through election to Sigma Pi Sigma, distinctive achievement and high scholarship in physics is recognized and celebrated.

Students inducted:

Sps 2018 For Web Story

  • Connor Bagwell
  • Levi Biasco
  • John Charters
  • Michael Dimen
  • Michael Foley
  • Gregory Greif
  • John Johnson
  • Luke Maillie
  • William Morgenlander
  • Allison Olshefke
  • Kaitlin Salyer
  • David Shaw
  • Elizabeth Wildenhain

And Faculty member Dervis Can Vural.


More about Sigma Pi Sigma

Sigma Pi Sigma exists to honor outstanding scholarship in physics; to encourage interest in physics among students at all levels; to promote an attitude of service of its members towards their fellow students, colleagues, and the public; to provide a fellowship of persons who have excelled in physics. Sigma Pi Sigma’s mission is not completed in the induction ceremony with the recognition of academic accomplishment. In the four dimensions of Honor, Encouragement, Service, and Fellowship, the mission of Sigma Pi Sigma takes a longer view.

Founded in 1921, Sigma Pi Sigma is a member honor society of the Association of College Honor Societies. Our society has some 75,000 historical members. Election to Sigma Pi Sigma is a lifetime membership.

Originally published by Shelly Goethals at on April 27, 2018.