Thomson Reuters names four Notre Dame faculty among the most highly cited scholars

Author: Nina Welding

Thomson Reuters

University of Notre Dame faculty members — Timothy Beers and Prashant Kamat from the College of Science and Bertrand Hochwald and J. Nicholas Laneman from the College of Engineering and  — have been named to the Thomson Reuters’ list of Highly Cited Researchers for 2015. Hochwald, Beers, and Kamat were named in the 2014 list. All four faculty members have also appeared on previous years’ lists.

Each year the list includes more than 3,000 scientists around the world who have published the highest number of articles that are cited the most frequently by other researchers. It is compiled from two separate Thomson Reuters studies that have been analyzed for publication and citation data from 21 broad fields of study, ranging from chemistry to social sciences. This year’s list focuses on highly cited papers* from journals indexed in the Web of Science Core Collection from 2003-13.

Tim Beers

Beers joined the University in 2014, following 26 years at Michigan State University, from which he retired as University Distinguished Professor, and three years as director of the Kitt Peak National Observatory in Tucson, Ariz. He now serves as the Notre Dame Chair in Astrophysics and associate director of the Joint Institute for Nuclear Astrophysics – Center for Evolution of the Elements, an NSF Physics Frontier Center. Beers is the recipient of the Humboldt Senior Research Award and has authored more than 380 peer-reviewed publications.

His research, which stretches across many dimensions of astrophysics and the origin of the elements in the Universe, is currently focused on the Milky Way, specifically the third extension of the Sloan Digital Sky Survey. He and his colleagues have measured elemental abundances for more than 600,000 stars in the Galaxy, 200 times the numbers of ancient, very metal-poor stars that were previously known. His recent work has demonstrated that a subset of the most metal-poor stars — the carbon-enhanced metal-poor stars — have recorded the chemical history of the elements produced by the very first generations of stars born in the Universe, a few hundred million years after the Big Bang.

Prashant Kamat

Kamat is the Rev. John A. Zahm, C.S.C., Professor of Science in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry and the Notre Dame Radiation Laboratory, as well as concurrent professor of the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering. A leader in the field of converting solar to electricity and chemical energy, he has published more than 450 peer-reviewed publications, edited four books, is a contributor to 14 books and monographs and serves as the deputy editor of the Journal of Physical Chemistry Letters. In addition to this most recent recognition from Thomson Reuters, in 2011 Times Higher Education Group ranked him among the top 100 chemists of the previous decade based on citations per paper. The h-index measure of his research impact surpassed 110 this year, a distinction achieved by only the world’s most elite scientists. He also is a Fellow of the American Chemical Society (ACS), American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the Electrochemical Society. His honors include the Chemical Research Society of India Medal, Honda-Fujishima Lectureship Award from the Japanese Photochemistry Association, and ACS’s Langmuir Leadership Award.

The goal of Kamat’s research is to build bridges between physical chemistry and material science in order to improve energy conversion efficiencies. His most recent work focuses on nanotechnology and material chemistry, solar energy conversion, chemical processes in heterogeneous media, and solar fuels. He joined the Notre Dame faculty in 1983.

Bertrand Hochwald, Electrical Engineering

Hochwald joined the University faculty in 2011 and serves as the Frank M. Freimann Professor of Electrical Engineering. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and has served as editor on several industry journals.

With 37 patents and 95 publications in the field of wireless communications, Hochwald has experienced and led the practice of wireless communications from a variety of angles in his roles at the Department of Defense, as a Distinguished Member of the Technical Staff at Bell Laboratories and as vice president of Systems Engineering at Beceem Communications. He has invented technologies and published research articles that are the mainstays of communication theory and practice, including differential multiple-antenna methods, linear dispersion codes, and multi-user precoding methods. He is currently working on wideband radio-frequency circuits, fifth-generation (5G) cellular technologies, and methods to reduce human exposure to electromagnetic radiation from portable wireless devices.

J. Nicholas Laneman

Laneman is an author of more than 120 publications and an inventor on six patents, also in the field of wireless communications. His work has addressed system design and prototyping of technologies, such as multihop and cooperative relaying, dynamic spectrum access, and physical-layer security. He, too, is a Fellow of the IEEE. Among his other honors are a Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers, a National Science Foundation CAREER Award, and an Oak Ridge Associated Universities Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Award.

Connecting a multi-disciplinary team of Notre Dame faculty with leading industrial collaborators, Laneman is the founding director of the Wireless Institute in the College of Engineering. He also serves as a professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering and is a Fellow of the John J. Reilly Center for Science, Technology, and Values. He joined the University in 2002.

*Highly cited papers are defined as those that rank in the top one percent by citations for the field and publication year in the Web of Science. More information about the methodology behind the list is available at