Six College of Science faculty named AAAS Fellows

Author: Gene Stowe


Six College of Science faculty members have been named Fellows of the American Academy for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in honor of their efforts to advance science or its applications. They are among 503 new Fellows who will be honored at the AAAS annual meeting on February 19 in Washington, D.C.

Fellows in the AAAS section on Biological Science are Kasturi Haldar , director of the Center for Rare and Neglected Disease and the Rev. Julius A. Nieuwland, C.S.C., professor of Biological Sciences, and David Lodge, professor of Biological Sciences and director of the Center for Aquatic Conservation.

Fellows in the AAAS section on Chemistry are Prashant Kamat, The Rev. John A. Zahm Professor of Science and senior scientist at the Radiation Laboratory; Marvin Miller, the George and Winifred Clark Chair in Chemistry; Anthony Serianni, professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry; and Bradley Smith, the Emil T. Hofman Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry and director of the Notre Dame Integrated Imaging Facility. 

AAAS, founded in 1848 as a nonprofit association, is the world’s largest scientific society and publisher of the prestigious journal Science. Fellows are chosen through a nomination and review process with election by the Steering Group of each section. They are recognized for their contributions to science and technology. Last year, three professors in the College of Science received the honor.


Bookmark and Share