Stavropoulos Center Director László Forró elected Fellow of the American Physical Society

Author: Deanna Csomo Ferrell

László Forró

László Forró, Aurora and Thomas Marquez Professor of Physics of Complex Quantum Matter in the Department of Physics at the University of Notre Dame, as well as the inaugural director of the Stavropoulos Center for Complex Quantum Matter, has been elected as a Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS).

He was elected for groundbreaking advances in the understanding of superconductors, carbon 60, carbon nanotubes, and other nano- and biomaterials through the creative application of diverse techniques for synthesis, measurement, and analysis, according to the APS.

His election as a Fellow is both well-deserved and long overdue, said Morten Eskildsen, chair of the Department of Physics and Astronomy.

No more than one-half of one percent of the APS membership are elected to the status of fellow each year. The fellowship program was created in 1921 for scientists in the physics community to recognize their peers’ contributions to the field with original research, innovative applications, teaching and leadership.

Forró is a member of the Hungarian, Croatian, and Serbian Academies of Sciences, and is Doctor Honoris Causa of the University of Szeged, Hungary. He earned his master’s degree from Eötvös University in Budapest, Hungary, a doctorate of the third cycle from Université Paris-Sud, France, and another doctorate degree from the University of Zagreb, Croatia.

“As an APS fellow, I am truly honored to be a member of this esteemed community,” Forró said. “With this privilege comes a profound responsibility: to uphold and exemplify the highest standards of research and teaching at Notre Dame.”

Including Forró, the department counts 13 APS Fellows among its current faculty and another ten emeriti Fellows, Eskildsen said.

“The large number of APS Fellows is a testament to the strength of the Department of Physics and Astronomy,” he said.