Students Receive Summer Research Fellowships

Author: Marissa Gebhard

The College of Science has awarded thirteen Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowships (SURF) to students who are conducting research on campus this summer. This selective fellowship award consists of a stipend of $4000 or more, and up to $500 for supplies. Each fellowship recipient is working full-time for 9– 10 weeks on a research project mentored by faculty in the College of Science. Support for SURF is provided by the College of Science, the Claire Booth Luce Scholars program,  

The awardees will continue to work with the same faculty mentor for at least one academic year, and are expected to give a formal presentation of their research at an undergraduate research symposium or scientific conference.

The College of Science congratulates the following fellowship recipients:

  • Alison Buch
  • Sophia Cortez
  • Jennifer Dang
  • Caroline Green
  • Thomas Gruffi
  • Patrick Holvey
  • Caitlin Jacowski
  • Davide Lionetti
  • James Masters
  • Thomas Osberger
  • Kirk Post
  • Thomas Rehagen
  • Sarah Sullivan

The Indiana University School of Medicine - South Bend has awarded Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowships to the following College of Science students:

  • Bryan Coniglio
  • Andrew Haynes
  • Jonathan Stefley

Two students received other summer undergraduate research stipends. Kyle Rocca was awarded grants from the Honors Program and the College of Science, and Christina Zoccoli received a travel grant.

The Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowships demonstrate the College of Science’s commitment to the education and training of undergraduate students. These fellowships provide funding for students to focus on their research over the summer, while under the continued direction of their faculty mentors. As part of a broader program to increase participation in undergraduate research, the college has significantly increased the number and size of the fellowship awards in the last two years.