Faculty awards honor exemplary work in undergraduate teaching and advising

Author: Michael O. Garvey

University of Notre Dame

Academic Mark

Eighteen University of Notre Dame faculty members have received Rev. Edmund P. Joyce, C.S.C., Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching and three faculty have been honored with Dockweiler Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising.

The awards are presented by the Office of the Provost, but recipients are selected through a process that includes peer and student nominations.

The Dockweiler Award from the College of Science is Kathleen Cannon, O.P., professional specialist and associate dean in the college.

Other winners include:

  • Ann Marie R. Power, associate professional specialist in sociology

The 18 winners of Joyce teaching excellence awards represent faculty who have had a profound influence on undergraduate students through sustained exemplary teaching. Faculty committees in each of seven disciplinary areas review the peer and student nominations.

The College of Science recipients are:

Other recipients include:

  • Shane A. Corwin, finance
  • Alan R. DeFrees, architecture
  • James L. Fuehrmeyer, accountancy
  • Mary M. Keys, political science
  • Yahya C. Kurama, civil and environmental engineering and earth sciences
  • Brian R. Levey, accountancy
  • Cynthia K. Mahmood, anthropology
  • Tadeusz R. Mazurek, classics
  • Elizabeth S. Moore, marketing
  • Mark W. Roche, German and Russian languages and literatures
  • Ryan K. Roeder, aerospace and mechanical engineering
  • Sebastian Rosato, political science
  • Robert E. Sullivan, history
  • Paul J. Weithman, philosophy

The undergraduate teaching award is supported by a gift from the late Father Joyce’s classmates in the Class of 1937. This is the seventh year that advisers and student mentors are being honored through an award supported by the Julia Stearns Dockweiler Charitable Foundation.

Originally published by Michael O. Garvey at news.nd.edu on May 01, 2013.