News » Archives » December 2008

Two faculty members named AAAS fellows

Author: William G. Gilroy

Ani Aprahamian 2008

Two University of Notre Dame faculty members have been named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in honor of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.

AAAS, founded in 1848 as a nonprofit association, is the world’s largest scientific society and the publisher of the prestigious journal Science. The new Notre Dame AAAS fellows are: Ani Aprahamian, professor of physics, and James J. McKenna, Rev. Edmund P. Joyce Chair in Anthropology.

Read More

Kamat's research featured on the cover of the Journal of Physical Chemistry

Author: Marissa Runkle

Prashant Kamat

Prashant Kamat has recently published a feature article titled “Quantum Dot Solar Cells. Semiconductor Nanocrystals as Light Harvesters” which was featured on the front cover of the Journal of Physical Chemistry.

Kamat is a professor of chemistry and biochemistry and senior scientist at the Radiation Laboratory, and concurrent professor in the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering.

Read More

Congressman Donnelly visits Nuclear Science Laboratory

Author: Gene Stowe

Congressman Donnelly

Congressman Joe Donnelly (IN-2) and his science staffer Paul Gether visited the Nuclear Science Laboratory at Notre Dame on Wednesday December 3, 2008. The Congressman was invited by Professor Umesh Garg of the Physics Department. The Nuclear Science Laboratory is one of the highest funded research enterprises in the state of Indiana and falls within the district of the congressman.

Read More