Off-Campus Research Opportunities

Science Internships and Summer Opportunities - 2020

 

Notre Dame Sites

How to Find a Research Position https://science.nd.edu/research/undergraduate-research/finding-a-position/

College of Science On-Campus Research Opportunities http://science.nd.edu/research/undergraduate-research/opportunities/on-campus/

College of Science Off-Campus Research Opportunities

https://science.nd.edu/research/undergraduate-research/opportunities/off-campus/

Center for Social Concerns https://socialconcerns.nd.edu/

Center for Undergraduate Scholarly Engagement ​http://cuse.nd.edu/

DNA Learning Center https://dnacenter.nd.edu/  email asstdnacenter@nd.edu

Kellogg Institute for International Studies Summer Entrepreneurial Internships

https://kellogg.nd.edu/opportunities/undergraduate-students/summer-entrepreneurial-internships

UNDERC University of Notre Dame Environmental Research Center http://underc.nd.edu/

 

Notre Dame Center for Career Development

Center for Career Development https://careerdevelopment.nd.edu/welcome/

Career Development Guide https://undergradcareers.nd.edu/getting-started/career-development-guide/

First Destination Data https://undergradcareers.nd.edu/getting-started/stats-and-outcomes/

Handshake https://nd.joinhandshake.com/

Irish Compass (Networking) https://irishcompass.nd.edu

O*NET Online https://www.onetonline.org/

Vault Career Insider https://access-vault-com.proxy.library.nd.edu/

Occupational Outlook Handbook https://www.bls.gov/ooh/

Explore Health Careers https://explorehealthcareers.org/

 

Certification Programs Resulting in paid positions

Certified Medical Scribe Professional https://ahdpg.com/training/medical-scribe/?keyword_session_id=vt~adwordskt~become%20a%20medical%20scribemt~bta~297200113806&_vsrefdom=wordstream&gclid=EAIaIQobChMIsKTLqNe45wIVDvDACh0iAQmCEAAYAyAAEgLmPfD_BwE

Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA)  https://www.registerednursing.org/certified-nursing-assistant/

Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) https://www.firescience.org/how-to-become-an-emt/

 

Healthcare Related Opportunities

AAMC Summer Undergraduate Research Programs  https://www.aamc.org/professional-development/affinity-groups/great/summer-undergrad-research-programs

American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Spurlock Research Fellowship https://www.aacap.org/aacap/awards/medical_students_awards/Spurlock_Research_Fellowship.aspx

Camp Sweeney https://campsweeney.org/join/positions/

Center for Disease Control:​http://www.cdc.gov/Fellowships/StudentInternships.html

Cooper Medical School of Rowan University PULSE http://cmsru.rowan.edu/diversity/undergrad/

Div. of Sleep Medicine, Harvard Medical School Summer Research Training Program for Minority Medical Students https://sleep.med.harvard.edu/training/research-training-program/summer-minority-medical-students

Einstein Summer Undergraduate Mentorship Program https://www.einstein.yu.edu/centers/hispanic-centers-of-excellence/opportunities.aspx

Emory Winship Cancer Institute Summer Scholars Research Program https://winshipcancer.emory.edu/education/summer-scholars/index.html

ExploreHealthCareers.org Enrichment Programs https://explorehealthcareers.org/enrichment-programs/

EyeU@Indiana University

https://optometry.iu.edu/academics/summer-programs/index.html

Georgetown Summer Medical Institute https://som.georgetown.edu/medicaleducation/specialprograms/summer/

Health Careers Opportunity Program (HCOP) http://www.neramedprep.org/

Indianapolis Zoo https://www.indianapoliszoo.com/jobs-volunteer/internships/

IUPUI Undergraduate Research Programs https://crl.iupui.edu/studentprograms/iupuiresearchprograms/index.html

Kent State University College of Podiatric Medicine Pre-Professional Internship Program https://www.kent.edu/cpm/pre-professional-internship-0

MD Anderson Center Summer Research Programs https://www.mdanderson.org/education-training/degrees-programs/summer-research-programs.html

NAAHP Summer Opportunities https://www.naahp.org/student-resources/summer-opportunities

National Institute on Aging Summer Training in Aging Research Program https://www.nia.nih.gov/research/blog/2016/02/apply-now-nias-summer-training-aging-research-program

Orthopaedic Summer Internship Program https://www5.aaos.org/CustomTemplates/Content.aspx?id=22266

Penn State University STEP-UP https://med.psu.edu/step-up

Public Health Pathways for Premedical Students https://students-residents.aamc.org/applying-medical-school/article/public-health-pathways/

National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases STEP-UP https://www.niddk.nih.gov/research-funding/research-programs/diversity-programs/research-training-opportunities-students/short-term-research-experience-underrepresented-persons-step-up

St. Jude Pediatric Oncology Education (POE) Program: www.stjude.org/poe 

Stanford Biosciences Summer Research Program https://biosciences.stanford.edu/wp-content/uploads/2019/10/2019-SSRP-Brochure.pdf

Summer Health Professions Education Programs http://www.shpep.org/sites/

Summer Institute in Biomedical Informatics at Harvard Medical School https://dbmi.hms.harvard.edu/education/summer-institute-biomedical-informatics

Summer Institute in BioEngineering and Health Informatics https://www.compadre.org/student/research/Detail.cfm?id=612

Summer Public Health Scholars Program (SPHSP) Columbia https://www.ps.columbia.edu/education/academic-programs/additional-educational-opportunities/summer-youth-programs/college-0

Texas BME Cures Cancer REU https://sites.utexas.edu/bmereu/

UCSF Summer Research Training Program https://graduate.ucsf.edu/srtp

UNM School of Medicine Undergraduate Pipeline Network (UPN) https://hsc.unm.edu/research/brep/undergraduate/upn/index.html

University of Cincinnati College of Medicine Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship https://med.uc.edu/SURF/experience

University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus (GEMS) https://medschool.cuanschutz.edu/gems

University of Michigan Frankel Cardiovascular Center Summer Fellowship Program https://sites.google.com/site/cvcsummerfellowship/home

University of Michigan Future Public Health Leaders Program ​http://fphlp.sph.umich.edu/

University of Michigan Medical School Undergraduate Summer Research https://medicine.umich.edu/medschool/education/non-degree-programs/undergrad-summer-research

University of Pittsburgh Summer Premedical Academic Enrichment Program (SPAEP) https://medschooldiversity.pitt.edu/our-programs/summer-premedical-academic-enrichment-program-spaep

UT Health San Antonio Mays Cancer Center Oncology Research Internship https://www.uthscsa.edu/patient-care/cancer-center/oncology-research-internship

UT Health San Antonio Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Summer Programs https://www.uthscsa.edu/academics/biomedical-sciences/programs/summer

VCU Health Sciences Pipeline Programs: https://dhsd.vcu.edu/

Yale Mind and Development Lab Summer Internship https://minddevlab.yale.edu/join-us

 

Research Opportunities

AAMC Summer Undergraduate Research Programs https://www.aamc.org/members/great/61052/great_summerlinks.html 

Advancing Cornell Career Experiences for Science Students (ACCESS) Summer Internship Program https://gradschool.weill.cornell.edu/student-experience/diversity-and-inclusion/summer-undergraduate-research

American Chemical Society, Internships for Undergraduate Chemistry Students https://www.acs.org/content/acs/en/education/students/college/experienceopp.html

Amgen Scholars:​http://www.amgenscholars.com/

Argonne National Laboratories https://www.anl.gov/education

Center for Coastal Studies http://www.coastalstudies.org/about/internships/

Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Undergraduate Research Program https://www.cshl.edu/education/undergraduate-research-program/

DOE: https://www.energy.gov/eere/education/find-internships

EPA  https://www.epa.gov/careers/student-internships

IBP Pathways:​www.pathwaystoscience.org/programs.aspx
Indiana CTSI Undergraduate Clinical and Translational Research Program https://indianactsi.org/researchers/education-training/undergraduate-research/

IES Abroad https://www.iesabroad.org/intern-abroad

Institute of Biosciences and Bioengineering:​http://ibb.rice.edu/undergraduate-programs

MD-PhD-Focused Summer Undergraduate Research Programs https://www.aamc.org/professional-development/affinity-groups/great/mdphd-summer-programs

Nanoscale Science and Engineering Center: http://www.nsec.harvard.edu/pages/education.htm

NASA Summer Experiences https://nasasearch.nasa.gov/search?query=summer+experiences&affiliate=nasa&utf8=%E2%9C%93

NIH Summer Internship Program https://www.niehs.nih.gov/careers/research/summers/index.cfm

NIH:​https://www.training.nih.gov/programs/sip

NSERC-USRA: Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council Undergraduate Student research Award (for Canadian residents) https://www.nserc-crsng.gc.ca/students-etudiants/ug-pc/usra-brpc_eng.asp

NSF-REUs: National Science Foundation Research Experiences for Undergraduates https://www.nsf.gov/crssprgm/reu/reu_search.jsp

ORISE: Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education https://orise.orau.gov/stem/internships-fellowships-research-opportunities/index.html

SAEP: Summer Academic Enrichment Programs:   Several opportunities, search SAEP

SIBS Summer in Biomedical Sciences Undergraduate Research Program https://www.uab.edu/medicine/sibs/

SIP: Summer Internship Program in Biomedical Research (through NIH) https://www.training.nih.gov/programs/sip/

Smithsonian Environmental Research Center Internship: http://www.serc.si/interns-fellows

SULI: Science Undergraduate Laboratory Internship https://www.energy.gov/diversity/events/science-undergraduate-laboratory-internships-suli

SURE: Summer Undergraduate Research Experiences: Several opportunities, search SURE

SURF: Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowships: Several opportunities, search SURF

SURP: Summer Undergraduate Research Programs: Several opportunities, search SURP

UROP: Undergraduate Research Opportunity Programs : Several opportunities, search UROP

US Department of State Pathways Internship Programs:​https://careers.state.gov/intern

US Department of State Summer Internships http://careers.state.gov/intern/students-programs/

Wildlife Intern at Huron-Manistee National Forest Internship Opportunity

 

Companies that have posted internships in the past​:

Genentech                   Amgen                        Biogen            Epic                 Merck

Genzyme                     Boeringer                    Ingelheim        Biomet            Roche

Eli Lilly                       Boston Scientific        Cerner             Abbott Laboratories

Gilead Sciences          GlaxoSmithKline        Aon                 Baxter             Nuvelo

Johnson & Johnson     Capital One                 Phizer              Medtronic       PWC

Schering-Plough         Stryker                        St. Jude’s        MD Anderson BCG

 

Non-Profits:

Idealist.org

American Red Cross: https://www.redcross.org/take-a-class

American Cancer Society: https://www.cancer.org/involved/volunteer.html

Hospice: https://www.aseracare.com/locations/

River Bend Cancer Services: https://www.riverbendcancerservices.org/volunteer

Women in Community Service:​https://www.volunteermatch.org/search/org69865.jsp

Women’s Cancer and Resource Center in California: ​http://www.wcrc.org/volunteer/

Women’s Care Center of South Bend: http://www.womenscarecenter.org/locations/south-bend/

Lifelong Medical Care, A California Health Center:  https://www.lifelongmedical.org/index.php

A Home Away from Homelessness:​http://www.homeaway.org/

Adolescent Counseling Services:​http://acs-teens.org/

Center for the Homeless, South Bend: https://www.cfh.net/volunteer

 

Summer Funding

Career Development Summer Funding Program

https://undergradcareers.nd.edu/opportunities/summer-funding/

Flatley Center for Undergraduate Scholarly Engagement Grants and Funding

https://cuse.nd.edu/undergraduate-research/funding-research/grants-nd/

College of Science Travel Grants and other Funding

https://science.nd.edu/research/undergraduate-research/opportunities/travel-grants-and-other-funding/

Nanovic Institute for European Studies Internship and Service Grants https://nanovic.nd.edu/grants-fellowships/for-undergraduates/internship-service-grants/